July 24, 2010

  • Life After Baby

    There’s nothing I love more than being a mother and spending time with my sweet boy.  At just over five months, Caleb has started giving hugs.  He grabs me with his little arms and buries his face into my shoulder.  He hugged his daddy today, too, and I’m sure he would agree that nothing in the world could be better than a hug from our son!  Caleb is such a blessing and I love every moment with him.  Even after a rough night, when he’s up five or six times to eat, going in to get him out of his crib in the morning and seeing that big smile on his face, brings a smile to my face, too. 

    There are definitely challenges to motherhood.  Spending hours with a fussy baby (when I know he’s hungry but he screams every time I try to feed him) is frustrating – no matter how much you love your child.  Finding time to shower, cook, or do anything for myself is nearly impossible.  But even on my toughest day, when I’m running on no sleep, Caleb is extra fussy and won’t let me put him down, I’ve got a headache and there’s no food in the house, it’s absolutely worth it.  

    I know every mother probably thinks this about their child, but Caleb has got to be the cutest baby in the world!  He is unbelievably precious.  Every facial expression he makes is priceless.  Every noise he makes is adorable.  His laughter lights up the room.  Caleb loves to be outdoors, he loves his baths, his toys, songs, and, most of all, he loves his mommy.  Caleb does not nap well – I’m lucky if I can get him down for half an hour in his crib.  However, he’ll nap for hours in my arms or when I’m driving.  He’s getting better about sleeping through the night, sometimes sleeping for six hours straight, but he still has nights when he’s up every two or three hours.  He can rollover from belly to back and from back to belly, but he doesn’t do it often.  Caleb can almost sit up by himself and I have a feeling he’ll be crawling soon.  During tummy time, he pulls his legs up so he’s on his knees – now he just needs to get up on his arms and he’ll be in business!

Comments (4)

  • Awww, he is so wonderful and cute. I am super happy for you and your husband. Truly, persistent prayer in Christ have answered your desires.  This is another testament of God’s love for your family. God bless your family =).

  • @Jeffnaman - Thank you!  Yes, we owe it all to God!  We are truly blessed.  :)

  • I am so happy to see an update from you! Caleb is such a little cutie! I love seeing the new pics of him! He looks like a different baby from the last pics I saw of him. His gorgeous smile is so priceless. I can’t believe it has been more than five months already! I am so happy for you that you are enjoying motherhood so much. Even in the most difficult of times, it is so true that your children are always so worth it!! Thanks for sharing this!

  • @chosenandblessed - Thank YOU for reading!  :)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *