March 18, 2012

  • No worries…at least for the moment.

    I had my follow-up ultrasound on March 13th to check on the subchorionic hemorrhage (SCH).  My doctor never called to go over the results with me, but the ultrasound tech said that the SCH was smaller than it had initially been (yay!).  My nurse called to give me my progesterone levels (26, up from 20 2 weeks earlier) and said that everything looked good in the ultrasound.  Baby was moving around and had a perfect heartbeat of 173 bpm.  Praise God!

    Ultrasounds always amaze me.  At our first ultrasound, baby was 8 weeks and looked just like a little bean…a little bean with a beating heart!  At this ultrasound, at 11 weeks, we were able to see arms, legs, feet, and some facial features.  The baby was only about an inch and a half long and nearly fully formed.  All he or she needs is time to grow and mature.  How anyone could say a baby at this stage (or any stage!) is nothing more than a clump of tissue is beyond me…  God’s creation is so beautiful and amazing!  Life is beautiful!

    At nearly 12 weeks, almost through the 1st trimester, I’m starting to feel better.  I’ve got more energy and less nausea, especially in the past 2 days.  I’m also feeling much less nervous and more confident that this baby is going to make it.  After this ultrasound and my last appointment with my doctor, I can honestly say I’m not worried at all.  I know there is always a chance that this baby’s life could end inside the womb.  I know people who have lost babies at 38 or 39 weeks for no apparent reason.  But, I know that I’m doing everything within my power to ensure that this baby has the best possible chance at a healthy life.  Beyond that, it’s in God’s hands.  So, we continue to place our hope and trust in Him – our Beautiful Creator. 

Comments (1)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *