August 31, 2012

  • Miracle

    As my pregnancy draws to an end and we prepare to welcome our sweet baby girl into the world, I can’t help but ponder the miracle of life and the human body.  There is a person living and growing inside my body.  How amazing!

    God’s design of the human body is simply incredible.  When I consider the various functions of the body – from digestion to sweat glands, reproduction to hair growth – I can’t help but stand in awe of the Creator.  The changes a woman’s body goes through to accommodate a growing baby are nothing short of miraculous.  While one organ, the uterus, expands to over 15 times its original size, others move out of the way to make room.  Skin is stretched beyond its limits, blood volume increases by 50%, ligaments loosen and bones shift to make birth possible.  And as all of this is happening to the woman’s body, a new body is growing and developing inside.  By 10 weeks gestation, the baby is nearly fully formed.  Barely bigger than a grape, all major organs are present – including a beating heart and functioning liver.  All the baby needs is time.  Nutrition and a safe “home” are provided naturally by the mother’s body. 

    To be able to participate in God’s creation as a mother is a privilege and a blessing.  Because of our marriage and our vow to be open to children, my husband and I have directly participated with God in creating 4 souls.  4 souls that will exist for all eternity.  4 souls that would not, could not, exist without us and our marriage union. 

    As I watch my sweet Caleb grow, my heart is filled with a joy that words cannot adequately express.  For me, to be a wife and mother is my life’s purpose.  This is my vocation.  This is what I was made to do, who I was made to be.  As we prepare to meet our baby girl, the joy of motherhood is multiplied.  I’m so excited to hold her in my arms and to see Caleb in his new role as a big brother.  There are, of course, concerns.  How am I going to get any sleep with a newborn who needs to nurse every 3 hours and a toddler who has been waking every night screaming and will only go back to sleep in our bed?  How am I going to manage grocery shopping, cooking, cleaning, etc. with 2 kids underfoot?  How are we going to manage our finances now that I’ll be a stay-at-home mom?  But, I know that these things will work themselves out.  I’ll learn to care for 2 children just as I learned to care for 1 – through trial and error, taking one day (sometimes one minute!) at a time.  I trust that God will continue to provide for our family – He always has in the past, why would He stop now?  The excitement, joy and love that I feel far outweigh the concerns and anxieties.  After all, there is a miracle taking place right now within my very body and another one running around the house giggling.  What more could I possibly ask for?

Comments (3)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *