August 15, 2010

  • Happy Half Birthday Caleb!

    Six months?!?!?!  Yes, it’s already been six months since you were born.  I probably sound like a broken record, but I can’t believe how fast the time has gone.  It seems like you change every day.  Every day you learn something new.  Every day I fall more in love with you. 

    You give the sweetest hugs and kisses now, and the other day you said your first word, “Mama.”  Daddy didn’t believe me until he heard you say it again the next day.  The day after that, you said “Mom.”  Music to my ears!  It seems like you babble nonstop, which is also music to my ears; your noises are so cute!  Your most recent achievement is sitting up on your own for a few minutes before tipping over.  You love to do your “exercises.”  We start by laying you on the couch (or floor), then I hold your hands and gently pull you up into a sitting position.  From there, I gently pull your hands again and you stand up.  You’re so smart, you usually start to stand up before I even pull you up.  You love to stand and you’ve got the strong legs to do so! 

    Caleb 1

    Your little hands are constantly exploring.  Daddy likes to lay on the couch with you in the mornings and let you bat at his face.  When I nurse you, your arm is in constant motion!  You grab at my face, my hand, and pretty much anything within reach!  One of your favorite “games” to play with Mommy and Daddy is to roll from your back to your tummy, then struggle and fuss until one of us comes to roll you back over or pick you up…you do this several times a day.  One of your other newly discovered “games” is throwing your toys on the floor for Mommy to pick up and give back to you.  You’ve recently started sleeping better at night, now only waking up to eat once or twice each night (this is a big improvement over waking up every three or four hours as you had been).  Around two-months-old, you all but quit taking naps, sleeping longer than 20 minutes at a time only when I held you.  But, you’ve recently started taking hour-long naps again!  What a good boy!

    Caleb 2

    I cannot say enough about you, Caleb.  You have brought such joy into our lives.  Your Daddy and I are truly blessed to have such a wonderful son!  In my eyes, you are perfect.  You are such a happy, smiley boy; I can’t help but smile when I look at your adorable face.  Your laughter fills our home with happiness.  You have exceeded my highest expectations and fulfilled my dreams for a family.  I love you, Caleb!  Happy half birthday! 

Comments (8)

  • Awe, that was very sweet. Hoping that he gets to see these posts when he can read. :)

  • @FreshLikeWoah__x3 - Thank you!  Yes, I plan on sharing these with him someday.  :)

  • Congrats! Sorry I’m commenting so late; I was on retreat the day you posted it!

  • @Ancient_Scribe - Thanks!  No need to be sorry, comments are always better late than never!  :)   Hope your retreat went well!

  • Your blog is wonderful and your son is beautiful! I hope you don’t mind if I subscribe to you. Reading through some of your posts reinforced my desire to want to start writing letters to my own boy (who won’t be born until December)… when I told my hubby of my plan to start writing him letters he laughed at me and said I was cute! I just think it’s a sweet idea and now I am definitely going to start. :)

  • @frombellytobaby@momaroo - Thank you and thank you!  :)   Of course I don’t mind!  I wish I was more consistent in the letters that I write to my son…but at least it’s better than nothing (hopefully he’ll agree someday when he reads them).  Blessings to you as you go through the final months of your pregnancy – such an exciting time!  :)

  • Cute pictures! How are you doing?  Thanks for your message.  I feel like it’s been a while since we’ve chatted.  I hope that things are going well and that you’re enjoying motherhood!

  • @Driving_blindfolded - Thanks!  Yes, I know it has been a while.  My time online is much more limited now that I have Mr. Caleb to chase after!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *